Intercultural competence is [the ability] “to see relationships between different cultures – both internal and external to a society – and to mediate, that is interpret each in terms of the other, either for themselves or for other people.” It also encompasses the ability to critically or analytically understand that one’s “own and other cultures’” perspective is culturally determined rather than natural. – Byram, M.


Eighth International Conference on the
Development and Assessment of Intercultural Competence

Decentering Mobility in Intercultural Education:
Engagement, Equity, and Access

January 27-30, 2022
A virtual event

Plenary Presentations

Uju Anya, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Race Matters in Intercultural Communication and Language Learning: The Case of African Americans Speaking Blackness in Brazil

Maria Dasli, University of Edinburgh, Scotland
Exploring the Impact of Ethnographic Inquiry: Students’ Perceptions of the Foreign Other during Study Abroad

Jennifer Pipitone, College of Mount Saint Vincent, USA
Place-based Intercultural Learning in the Virtual Era: Politics and Possibilities

Hosted by the Center for Educational Resources in Culture, Language and Literacy (CERCLL) at the University of Arizona, the 2022 ICC conference was a virtual event focusing on the ways in which intercultural communication and the teaching and learning thereof have been shaped through mobility – both virtual and physical. In particular, presentations addressed how the changing state of intercultural communication has been shaped by a world that is simultaneously more and less mobile, for example, due to differences in access among learners or to changing circumstances, such as the current global health crisis.

Recorded presentations are available on our YouTube channel, here.

See the conference schedule for more information, including presentation details (or access the conference schedule outline here [PDF]). Conference registrants accessed all presentations and accompanying materials on the Whova event app.

Scientific Committee, ICC 2022:

José Aldemar Alvarez Valencia (Universidad del Valle, Colombia)

Jane Andrews (University of Bristol, UK)

Elizabeth Arevalo-Guerrero (University of Maryland, Baltimore County)

Mahmoud Azaz (University of Arizona)

Teresa Catalano (University of Nebraska–Lincoln)

Irwin Compiègne (Australian National Universiy, Australia)

Cori Crane (University of Alabama)

Chantal Crozet (RMIT University), Australia)

Nelleke Van Deusen Scholl (Yale University)

Wenhao Diao (University of Arizona)

Adriana Diaz (University of Queensland, Australia)

Beatrice Dupuy (University of Arizona)

Peter Ecke (University of Arizona)

Julieta Fernandez (University of Arizona)

Federica Goldoni (Georgia Gwinett College)

Irina Golubeva (University of Maryland, Baltimore County)

David Gramling (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Barbara Hanna (University of Queensland, Australia)

Tara Hashemi (California State University, Fresno)

Mirjam Hauck (Open University, UK)

Emily Hellmich (University of Arizona)

Erin Kearney (SUNY Buffalo)

Kris Knisely (University of Arizona)

David Malinowski (San Jose State University)

Kristin Lange (Elon University)

Maria Manni (University of Maryland, Baltimore County)

Troy McConachy (University of Warwick, UK)

Janice McGregor (University of Arizona)

Kristen Michelson (Texas Tech University)

Nicole Mills (Harvard University)

Dianna Murphy (University of Wisconsin, Madison)

Robert O’Dowd (Universidad de Léon, Spain)

Christelle Palpacuer Lee (Rutgers University)

Suzanne Panferov (University of Arizona)

Kacy Peckenpaugh (Weber State University)

Beatriz Maria Peña Dix (Universidad de los Andes, Colombia)

Elyse Petit (Vanderbilt University)

Tracy Quan (University of Colorado, Boulder)

Diane Richardson (University of Florida)

Julio Rodriguez (University of Hawaii, Manoa)

Anamaria Sagre Barboza (Universidad de Córdoba, Colombia)

Barbara Schmenk (University of Waterloo, Canada)

Roxanna M Senyshyn (Pennsylvania State University, Abington College)

Elizabeth Smolcic (Pennsylvania State University)

Julie Sykes (University of Oregon)

Joshua Thoms (Utah State University)

Chelsea Timlin (University of Arizona)

Emma Trentman (University of New Mexico)

Raychel Vasseur (Texas Tech University)

Adnan Yilmaz (Sinop Universitesi, Turkey)

Manuela Wagner (University of Connecticut)

Yi Wang (Emory University)

Chantelle Warner (University of Arizona)